INEC postpones bye-elections in six senatorial districts, nine state constituencies


The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has announced the postponement of bye-elections slated for Oct 31, 2020 in six senatorial districts, nine state constituencies.

INEC made this known in a statement posted on its official Twitter handle on Thursday.

The commission noted that the decision was reached due to the current security situation in some parts of the country as the End SARS protests continue to spread.

According to INEC, the decision is in compliance with Section 26 (2) of the Electoral Act 2010 (as amended).

It also appealed for calm and understanding of the stakeholders and voters in the States where the elections were scheduled.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here